Uneven Laser Power

I have been using my beamo for about 5 months and overall it is great. that is if I put my item near the top left corner.

If I try to do something larger that spans the entire inner honeycomb (see pictures), it is clear that the power setting is not the same at the top left vs. the bottom right. You can see that the lines are getting thicker so this leads me to believe that the lenses are not well aligned???

I did try to calibrate the lenses as per the manual and from what I can tell when I do the laser pulse, the dots do align well on the tape.

I would really appreciate it if people can point me in the right direction.

Try measuring the distance between the laser head and the bed or workpiece. You might find that it’s not equal across the entire bed, which easily results in uneven cutting.

Playtester is correct… your bed is not level with respect to the travel of lens. That doesn’t add anything to what Playtester said… however: 1. You can remove the bed and with quite a bit of work, remove the chain and adjust each of the 4 corner posts to adjust the bed height; tedious. Or 2. Using NON-flammable shims (metal washers, metal shims, etc.) glue them on the lifters or on the bottom of the bed at the four corners to level the bed with respect to the lens. I followed the tedious route until I read someone (to whom I’m grateful), somewhere on this site mentioned the far easier method.

1 Like

… AND, make sure your media is flat… there is always the chance your sheet of plywood is not flat/level causing variance in distance from the lens. Just a thought.

1 Like