Tried printing with ABS yet?

Has anyone tried using ABS filament for printing yet? I have some sitting in a box that I just ordered, but I’m brand new to 3D printing, and looking to someone that has a bit more experience to help give me some tips.

everything I’ve read says you can’t print ABS on an unheated bed. I have a Cube 3rd gen printer that supports PLA and ABS and has an unheated bed. The bed is some material resembling ceramic onto which one applies their proprietary liquid glue for both PLA and ABS. With ABS, there is a “sidewalk” option, which I have seen described elsewhere as a brim. It’s a single layer that extends about 25mm from the print and purportedly creates enough force to prevent the ABS from lifting.

I’ve done one print using this method, on a part that was about 35mm high. It did warp, but I think it’s because the sidewalk/brim at that point on the bed had been missed by the glue.

Take this information at face value, as I have very little experience beyond that described above, although the PLA prints have been working fine on the Cube3.

I’m looking forward to having the same luck with my Flux Delta after it arrives next Tuesday! Yipee!

ABS contracts when it cools, much more than PLA does. If you don’t have a heated bed, the bottom layers will contract enough that they break loose from the bed. The purpose of a heated bed is to maintain a temperature that’s low enough to let the plastic solidify, but high enough that it doesn’t contract and break loose.

You might be able to give it a try with PEI or BuildTak or something like that, but out of the box, and unheated, I highly doubt that you’ll get ABS to work.

Try PETG, perhaps?

Something that you might try… Print a PLA raft, then change filament to ABS and see if that sticks… I have no idea, but it’s worth a go if you’re determined to make ABS work.

You can print ABS on an unheated bed… poorly.