Self-made vinyl cutter

Hello
My name is Daniel and I am a student from Switzerland. I can’t wait for the vinyl cutting tool so I created my own one. You can see pictures from my cutter an download the STL files from myminifactory.

https://www.myminifactory.com/object/flux-delta-vinyl-cutter-34981

The vinyl cutter works well and I’m now trying different speed settings an different types of blades to get even better results. One thing that I noticed is that Flux Studio has a lot of problems with the SVG files. With a lot of files Flux Studio displays a “was broken” warning. I found this topic: Inkscape-Workflow for SVG-Graphics but it is not working with all SVG files. Have someone more tips to fix this warning?

Hope you like my project and I like to see other people using my vinyl cutter.
Have fun!
Daniel

#111 Toolhead incorrect

nice work there Daniel

I think I’m going to have to try this. I’m completely new to vinyl cutting. What surface do you do the cutting on? I imagine you wouldn’t want to do it on the steel plate.

Don’t have my flux Delta+ yet so take this with a grain of salt, but I do have a vinyl cutter (well more like a anything that’s reasonably flat cutter… It’s a cricut).

The blade likely won’t be particularly long and vinyl comes with two layers, the vinyl which is sticky and the backing which is not. As long as your depth is set right you should only be cutting the vinyl and not the backing - so the plate shouldn’t get touched unless your depth is off.

The biggest trick is the vinyl itself. If you get Oracle or printable vinyl which generally sells in flat sheets, great. But most “fancy” vinyl (glitter, “holographic” air quotes because it’s more irridescent than holographic, chalkboard, whiteboard etc) it often comes in rolls. Which means then when you cut the piece you want to cut from it still curls.